A dummy package in Ubuntu for texlive

I was trying today to install bibtex2html in Ubuntu Precise, and I got the following message from the terminal:

~$ sudo apt-get install bibtex2html
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
  lmodern luatex ocaml-base-nox tex-common texlive-base texlive-binaries
  texlive-common texlive-doc-base texlive-luatex

Now, I have already installed TeXLive 2012 manually, therefore I do not need lmodern, luatex, etc. I could find this page with instructions. Basically, I installed equivs, created a file texlive-local taking the example from the above address as model (noting, that, for example texlive’s version in precise is 2009-15), then ran:

$ equivs-build texlive-local

This created a file texlive-local_2009-15_all.deb, which I could install with:

$ sudo dpkg -i texlive-local_2009-15_all.deb

and then I could install bibtex2html without unnecessary extra packages.

In case it is useful for anybody else, here is the texlive-local file I used.

This entry was posted in Ubuntu and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

